California’s minimum wage has steadily increased over the last several years. Even as recently as January 2022, there was an overall increase in minimum wage applied across the state. The statewide minimum wage will increase again beginning January 1, 2023, from $15 to $15.50. Additionally, some California employers are subject to specific local minimum wage ordinances that are higher than the state minimum wage.
To prepare your business and stay up to date with the minimum wage changes in your municipality, please review the following rate updates:
California New Minimum Wage Increases
Below is a list of California’s municipalities that have imposed new minimum wage rates, effective July 1, 2022:
- Alameda: $15.75
- Berkeley: $16.99
- Emeryville: $17.68
- Fremont: $16.00
- Foster City: $15.75
- Long Beach (Hotels): $16.73
- Los Angeles (City): $16.04
- Los Angeles (County – unincorporated areas): $15.96
- Los Angeles (Large hotels with >150 rooms): $18.17
- Malibu: $15.96
- Milpitas: $16.40
- Pasadena: $16.11
- San Francisco: $16.99
- Santa Monica: $15.96
- West Hollywood (>50 employees): $16.50
- West Hollywood (<50 employees): $16.00
- West Hollywood (hotels): $18.35
Although California’s minimum wage is already set to increase to $15.50 for all workers in 2023, many workers are fighting to have the minimum wage increase to $18/hour. According to the Orange County Register, “supporters of the initiative have gathered enough valid signatures to get the measure on the ballot for the general election in November 2024.” The measure would increase the state’s minimum wage to $18 by 2026, resulting in a $6,240 more per year pay increase for California workers.
To stay compliant with these new minimum wage laws, employers must make sure they are paying their employees the correct minimum wage as provided by their state or local municipality. If you haven’t already, make sure to update your company’s minimum wage postings to accurately reflect the change. Employers who are not compliant with the new minimum wage and workplace laws are subject to fines, wage claims, and penalties.
If you are having trouble navigating the legal requirements for minimum wage, sick leave laws, or any other employment matter, please contact Hackler Flynn & Associates.
DISCLAIMER: Content within this post should not be considered legal advice and is for informational purposes only. Communications made through this post do not create an attorney-client relationship. Hackler Flynn & Associates is not responsible for any content that you may access from third-party resources that may be accessed through or linked to this post. Hackler Flynn & Associates is only licensed to practice in California.
Your html code will go here